Jeff Mills was named senior advancement officer July 31. 

Candice Moore was appointed campaign and project director June 1. Moore previously served as director of marketing in the Office of University Communications
and Marketing. 

Laurel Shearin became director of prospect research and grants Aug. 12.

Alumni and Parent Relations

Heather Kemper was named director of alumni and parent relations July 1. She fills the role previously held by Liz Howell, who retired in June. Before filling this position Kemper served as event and project director, a position now held by Shelbi Bridges. Bridges previously served as Generation HU director in advancement.


Bryce Bray was appointed assistant football coach. Bray served as a graduate assistant during the 2019 season.

Mills Bryant, a member of the football team, was named Great American Conference Male Scholar Athlete of the Year. 

Rylie Cox-Evans, a member of the women’s tennis team, received the Intercollegiate Tennis Association NCAA Division II Central Region Arthur Ashe Leadership and Sportsmanship Award in May. Cox-Evans is the first female tennis player to receive the award.

Victoria Hood was named assistant cross-country and track and field coach. She previously served as a graduate assistant for the 2019-20 season. 

Emily Shell-Collins, member of the track and field team, and Miles Humphreys, member of the baseball team, are the 2020 M.E. Berryhill award winners.   

Dawson Yates was appointed assistant women’s basketball coach.

College of Education

Dr. Cheri Smith, associate professor and chair of the teacher preparation program,
was appointed to the Arkansas Early Childhood Commission by Gov. Asa Hutchinson in March.

College of Sciences

Dr. Kathy Helpenstill, associate professor of behavioral sciences, successfully completed her doctoral work in social work at the University of Tennessee on Feb. 25, 2020, to earn a Doctor of Social Work. The title of her capstone project is “BSW Student’s Self-Efficacy and Influencing Variable for Field Placement.” 

Faculty/Staff Awards

Faculty members Dr. Scott Adair, Dr. Greg Brooks, Dr. Marc Fager, Dr. Cliff Ganus, Dr. James Huff, Kimberly Laing, Dr. Michael Murphy, Dr. Jake Stewart and Laurie Walker are the 2019-20 Teacher Achievement Award recipients. Staff members Mary Alice Brooks, Angela English, Dana McMillion, Debra Nesbitt, Nancy Tackett, Dale Warren, Naomi Valentine and Melissa Westerholm received the 2019-20 Distinguished Service Award.

Harding University in Florence

Ethan Brown joined the International Programs team as the HUF assistant in January 2020. 

Office of Church Relations

Andrew Braxter was appointed as director of church outreach Aug. 10. Braxter is also a part of the University’s multicultural consortium and serves on its diversity committee. 

Registrar’s Office

Dr. Will Perkins, associate registrar, successfully defended his dissertation to earn his doctorate in educational leadership at Harding University in May 2020. The title of his dissertation is “The Predictive Effects of Completing College-Level Work in High School on Baccalaureate Degree Outcomes.” 

University Communications and Marketing

Josie Parker joined the office in June 2020 as marketing manager. 

Categories: Around Campus.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *