ACUE Certificates

Dr. Scott Adair, Megan Adams, Amy Baker, Dr. Nick Boone, Dr. Josh Brown, Dr. James Burk, Tessa Davidson, Dr. Laurie Diles, Jessica Gardner, Karen Garner, Dr. Russell Keck, Dr. Melanie Meeker, Dr. Jesse Robertson, Dr. Patrick Ruhl, Nekia Shelton, Dr. Susan Smith, Dr. Kevin Stewart, Kim Swenson, Dr. Jan Traughber, Jean Waldrop, April Watson, Dr. Anessa Westbrook and Dr. Jon White successfully completed an Association of College and University Educators’ certificate in effective college instruction endorsed by the American Council on Education. The certificates were earned over the course of 2020-21.

Alpha Chi

Dr. Usenime Akpanudo, associate professor of education, and Dr. Ginger Blackstone, associate professor of communication, were awarded the 2021 Alpha Chi Faculty Scholar Award in April 2021. They each received $1,000 in professional development funding.

College of Arts and Humanities

Dr. Ginger Blackstone, associate professor of communication, along with two co-authors from Georgia Southern, received the BEA Diversity & Inclusion Research Award in April 2021. The title of their paper is “Framing a Movement: Media Portrayals of the George Floyd Protests on Twitter.”

Dr. Dutch Hoggatt, professor of communication, was awarded the Broadcast Education Association 2021 Faculty Audio Radio Documentary Best of Competition Award in May 2021. The title of his documentary was “Artist Spotlight – Billie Holiday.”

College of Bible and Ministry

Dr. Jesse Robertson, associate professor, was appointed assistant dean of the College of Bible and Ministry May 1, 2021. 

Mac Sandlin, assistant professor, successfully defended his dissertation, earning his doctorate in theology with honors at the University of Dayton on May 11, 2021. The title of his dissertation is “Help Us to Be Good: A Pneumatological Virtue Ethic for Churches of Christ.”  

College of Education

Dr. Clara Carroll, associate dean and professor, Dr. Carol Douglass, director of special education and professor, and Dr. Lisa Bryant, assistant professor, received a grant from the Arkansas Department of Education’s Division of Elementary and Secondary Education in April 2021. The grant award is $559,817 and will serve Arkansas public school educators.

Faculty/Staff Awards 

Faculty members Mike Allen, Dr. Tim Baird, Charles Bane, Ben Jones, Dr. Travis McNeal, Rhonda Reely, Dr. Mac Sandlin, Dr. Melissa Shipp and Steve Warren are the 2020-21 Teacher Achievement Award recipients. Staff members Bob Barnett, Tiffany Byers, Allison Case, Pam Celsor, Shane Fullerton, Paula Kirby, Deanna Nowakowski and Wayne Westerholm received the 2020-21 Distinguished Service Award. 

Harding School of Theology

Jessica Holland was named library director effective July 1, 2021. She previously served as the librarian for Harding Academy Memphis.  

Categories: Around Campus.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *