National Science Foundation fellowships go to three alumni

Three alumni have won the prestigious Graduate Research Fellowship from the National Science Foundation, which recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported STEM disciplines who are pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees at accredited U.S. institutions. Typically considered the most prestigious award for graduate students in scientific disciplines, the five-year fellowship includes three years of financial support including an annual stipend of $34,000.

The 2021 NSF GRF awardees are Herman Ronald “Ronnie” Clements, Kanembe Shanachilubwa and Amanda Coleman Walls.

Clements graduated in 2019 with a Bachelor of Science in psychology and is pursuing a doctorate in engineering education research at Purdue University. While at Harding, he was a member of the Beyond Professional Identity research lab and was a McNair Scholar. His NSF GRF was awarded in the field of engineering education research.

Shanachilubwa earned a Bachelor of Science in mechanical engineering in 2019 and is pursuing a doctorate in mechanical engineering at Penn State University. He also was a member of the BPI research lab and a McNair Scholar while at Harding. Engineering education research is the field of his NSF GRF. 

Walls graduated in 2020 with a Bachelor of Science in biomedical engineering and is pursuing a doctorate in the same field at University of Arkansas. While at Harding, she was a member of Dr. Jeff Massey’s research lab and was connected to the Arkansas Space Grant Consortium. Her NSF GRF was awarded in the field of biomedical engineering.

Learn more about The National Science Foundation $575,000 grant awarded to Huff for his research titled “CAREER: Advancing Academic Cultures of Well-being by Understanding Professional Experiences of Engineering Faculty.” This grant is the most prestigious individual award given to an early-career faculty member at Harding. It is the 59th CAREER grant awarded in the state of Arkansas and only the sixth at an institution other than the University of Arkansas since NSF’s inception in 1994. This is the first CAREER award given among Harding’s peer institutions, including church of Christ-affiliated universities.

Categories: Around Campus.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *