Cannon-Clary College of Education to host Arkansas Teacher of the Year recipient

The Harding University Cannon-Clary College of Education will host Meghan Ables, Arkansas Teacher of the Year in 2016, at 4 p.m. Tuesday,  April 10, in the Watson Center in the Thornton Education Center.

Ables has over 10 years of experience in the field and will share her insight with Harding education majors.

“Meghan has demonstrated innovation and passion in her teaching in the promotion of student achievement,” said Dr. Clara Carroll, associate dean of the Cannon-Clary College of Education and a National Board Certified Teacher. “The College of Education is honored to host this respected educator as a model of excellence in education. Through her strong leadership and commitment to the profession, our students will benefit from Meghan’s experiences, expertise and wisdom.”

The mission of the Arkansas Teacher of the Year program is to promote the profession and recognize quality teachers who implement best practices in Arkansas public school classrooms. The program is led by the Arkansas Department of Education in partnership with the State Board of Education. The Arkansas Teacher of Year program identifies, recognizes and utilizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms in Arkansas public schools.

Arkansas law provides the teacher of the year recipient with one year of paid administrative leave for professional development purposes. They also serve as a non-voting member of the Arkansas State Board of Education during their tenure.

Harding University is a private Christian, liberal arts university located in Searcy, Arkansas. Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, it is the largest private university in the state. Harding’s student body represents all 50 states and 54 nations and territories. The University offers more than 100 undergraduate majors; graduate and professional degrees at the master’s, specialist and doctoral levels; as well as numerous study abroad opportunities including locations in Australia, Chile, England, France, Greece, Italy and Zambia. For more information, visit


Share this:
Categories: Uncategorized.